Mitzi Saunders, professor and graduate coordinator for the Adult-Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist (AG-CNS) programs, was elected president elect of the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists. She will serve a three-year term, beginning in March 2022.

Saunders assumes the role of president elect in March before serving as president for one year from March 2023 to March 2024 and then past president the following year (2024-25). Saunders was awarded a one-year sabbatical from the University in 2023.