Titan commitment honored at 2024 Spotlight on Excellence awards

Titan commitment honored at 2024 Spotlight on Excellence awards

Seven people pose for a photos, three holding lamps, in front of a blue University of Detroit Mercy backdrop, inside of the Student Union.
From left to right with President Donald Taylor: Karla Lewis, Arthur Ko, Megan Novell receive mission awards, and Pam Zarkowski and Diane Praet are honored for their 45 years of service to the University.

Dozens of members of the University of Detroit Mercy community were honored Monday during the 2024 Spotlight on Excellence awards ceremony inside of the Student Union Ballroom on the McNichols Campus.

The University acknowledged the contributions and achievements of the faculty, staff, administrators and retirees during the ceremony.

Among those honored were Administrative Assistant in the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department Jane Schley for 50 years of service, Provost Pam Zarkowski and Associate Vice President/University Registrar Diane Praet for 45 years of service to the University and dozens more people who are marking 40, 35, 30, 25, 20, 15, 10-year milestones.

The 2024 Faculty Recognition Awards went to:

  • Faculty Excellence Award — Claudia Bernasconi, Professor, School of Architecture & Community Development
  • Faculty Achievement Award — Nadine Wodwaski, Associate Professor, Nursing, College of Health Professions & McAuley School of Nursing
  • Jesuit Community Faculty Stipend — Rosemary Weatherston, Associate Professor, English Department; Erin Henze, Associate Professor, Psychology Department; Rachel Lee, Assistant Professor, Psychology Department; Sarah Rowe, Assistant Professor, Psychology Department

Earning the 2024 Commitment to Excellence Awards were:

  • Rising Star Award — Dwayne Arnett, Helpdesk Technician, ITS
  • Commitment to Excellence Staff Award — Lalisha Griffin, Administrative Assistant, Biology, College of Engineering & Science
  • Commitment to Excellence Administrator Award — Tyra Dahlerup, Executive Director of Admissions, Admissions & Recruitment

Receiving the 2024 Mission Leadership Awards were:

  • Agere ex Missione Staff Award — Karla Lewis, Administrative Assistant to the Dean, College of Engineering & Science
  • Agere ex Missione Administrator Award — Megan Novell, Title IX Coordinator and Equity and Compliance Specialist, Co-Director of Women’s and Gender Studies
  • Agere ex Missione Faculty Award — Arthur Ko, Associate Professor, College of Health Professions & McAuley School of Nursing

Visit udmercy.edu for a full list of honorees and award winners.

Full photos from Spotlight on Excellence.